Skip to content

[Event] 2012 National Book Festival: September 22-23

July 29, 2012

The National Book Festival  is quickly approaching.  This year, as in every year in the the past,  I have said that I am going to attend for me.  I will look at contemporary authors for my personal pleasure so as to add to my personal home shelf…and what do I always end up doing…wrapping myself around the schedule of events that center on those fabulous children and YA authors.  I admit it, I can’t help myself.

The two-day festival is free to the public and will feature some of my favorite authors and illustrators.  Click on the links below to read more about the children, YA and adult artists I plan to see and read my unbridled musings:

Children

  • Avi – latest book “Sophia’s War” – there’s no end to his work
  • James Dashner – Maze Runner series (3rd installment “Infinity Ring”)
  • Patricia Polacco – latest book “The Art of Miss Chew” – and just because
  • Chris Raschka – 2012 Caldecott “A Ball for Daisy”
  • Bryan Collier – because he does no wrong

YA

  • Sharon Flake – to hear what she has to say about her latest book “Pinned.”  I missed her at ALA Annual.
  • John Green – I just love him…prescriptive writing and all…you know – girl – reject nerd – sidekick – road trip/quest – love him! In fact, I love his latest “The Fault in Our Stars” more than previous titles.
  • David Levithan – “Every You Every Me” storyline and how it was written – crazy – David is brilliant, might I add
  • Lois Lowry – just because she is Lois Lowry – what else can I say?
  • Walter Dean Myers – I’ve never had the honor
  • Maggie Stiefvater – A MUST! Even if I see no one else A MUST!
  • Jacqueline Woodson – she’s going to think I’m stalking her at this point

Adult Poetry & Prose

  • Colson Whitehead – He is the author of the only book I allowed to get rained on…on purpose – I’ll talk about it sometime…maybe
  • Junot Díaz – I wouldn’t dream of letting his work get rained on…not ever
  • John Lewis – I’m sure Representative Lewis will have a mob level scene – so attending this is a distant twinkle in the back of my brain
  • Philip Roth – Mr. Roth is one of the most honored writers of his time, winning the National Book Award twice.  This will be another mob scene and twinkle for me
  • Nalo Hopkinson – Black YA Sy-Fy author.  I’m always on the search for diversity in the genre for both adult and YA . My initial reaction and other reviewers’ feedback on her latest, “The Chaos,” is not all stars and stripes, but you never know how the students respond.  Can’t wait to hear the soundings of some of my students that have read it.   I have to say…I, personally, am a rabid SyFy Fantasy nut (chick lit is a steamy second)!  IMHO– there is no replacement for the late Octavia Butler , although I thank my stars for T. Due (no comparison to Octavia – just thankful for her craft and artistry AND for Jaunita M. introducing her to me)
  • The Pavilion of States – There’s a display of  books that give homage to each state in the union.  I bet Maggie S. is going to be highly featured for Virginia…let’s see!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

In the Margins Book Awards

Book Award and Selection Committee

Books for All Children About All Children

"Success comes from a balance of self-awareness and acceptance of others" -Beth Morrow

Lee & Low Blog

Exploring Children's Books Through the Lens of Diversity

Crazy Red Pen

Up and Coming Books for the Urban Middle Grade Reader!

American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

Up and Coming Books for the Urban Middle Grade Reader!

American Indian Library Association

Up and Coming Books for the Urban Middle Grade Reader!

Kirkus Reviews

Up and Coming Books for the Urban Middle Grade Reader!

